This event is being presented by the World Bank’s Energy Sector Management Assistance Program (ESMAP) and is focused on the progress and activities taken since the Climate Action Summit on the Energy Storage initiative. This event brings together key stakeholders from the public and private sector to review the current status of the initiative as well as discuss how an integrated and multi-dimensional approach can improve the socio-economic benefits triggered by renewable+storage projects, fostering sustainable development. It will explore how to enhance the involvement of the local players on the solar/wind/storage value chain in a competitive manner to the extent possible, maximizing jobs creation, skills development and transfer of knowledge.

The panel will also discuss how to better support local community development in the areas of implementation of the projects through actions increasing their resilience and enhancing their livelihoods with a special focus on women empowerment and the new employment opportunities across the Renewable+Storage value chain.


Moderator: Mr. Hans Olav Ibrekk, Policy Director, Section for Energy and Climate, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Norway


Opening remarks

  • Mrs. Kate Hughes, BEIS director for international climate and energy, UK


Presentation: Update on Battery Storage and SRMI

  • Mr. Rohit Khanna, Head, Energy Sector Management Assistance Program


High-Level Panel Discussion with representatives of:

  • Mr. Mustapha Bakkoury, CEO, Masen, Morocco
  • Ms. Mafalda Duarte, Head, Climate Investment Funds, World Bank
  • Ms. Rabia Ferroukhi, Director, Knowledge, Policy and Finance Centre, IRENA
  • Ms. Christine Lins, Co-Founder and Executive Director, Global Women Network
  • Mr. Mkhulu Mathe, Manager of the Energy Materials at the Council for Scientific and Industrial Research, South Africa
  • Mr. Paddy Padmanathan, CEO Acwa Power


Closing Remarks

Mr. Hans Olav Ibrekk, Policy Director, Section for Energy and Climate, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Norway


Program Concludes

Contact details:

Chandrasekar Govindarajalu Nadia Taobane Stephen Halloway (